Carrollton, Ky. – Jan. 6, 2020 – As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, the Carroll County School District is joining in the celebration.


Rob Spenneberg, Carolyn Jones, D’anne Smith, Gwen Chapman and Corey Groseclose are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 173 local school districts being recognized this month for their service.


“I encourage everyone to take some time this month to thank a school board member,” said Superintendent Danny Osborne. “Our board members work long hours for our students. They attend many meetings and trainings outside of regular school board meetings, not to mention the calls and questions that they field from the community. We have a great group of board members here in Carroll County, and I hope we can all take a moment this month to recognize them.”


The five members of the Carroll County Board of Education are elected by the citizens of Carroll County. The job of a school board member in Kentucky is to oversee the superintendent’s management of the district.


“Ultimately, we work for the children and the citizens of Carroll County,” Osborne said. “Our board members ensure that our every decision keeps kids first.”


The Carroll County School District is a public school system that operates within the geographic boundaries of Carroll County, Kentucky. The district serves around 1,900 students K-12. For more information on the Carroll County School District, visit

Back to School News      Print News Article